Typical Morning with a Toddler

I haven’t written too much about momhood, so I thought I’d share a glimpse.

Layla usually falls asleep around 10 p.m. (Yes, this qualifies us in the bad parents category.) I’ve got to be at work at 8:30 a.m. at the latest. So she does not get the pediatrician recommended 10-12 hours of sleep. Heck she’s lucky if she sleeps more than I do.

Anyway so I like to get up, read, wash dishes, make eggs, take my time.

During this time, my girl is still catching her zzzs. At some point, either Layla wakes up, or I start changing her clothes while she’s sleeping. That’s when she wakes up or she just hisses at me in her sleep that she needs to keep her pajamas on.

For breakfast, she eats eggs or yogurt. Some days I’m lucky if she eats just raisins or pretzels. (Bad mom alert!) So you can see why she had the distinction at her second birthday of being in the first percentile for weight.

Anyway, we went through a week or so where she would not even sit on the potty, brush her teeth or eat before school. At some point the clock was ticking, time was up, and I just had to drive her to school with the morning routine incomplete.

This would be followed by nagging rants from me to her. I would go on and on about the things we were not getting done. It sounded like I was yelling at a teenager or something.

You might think, She’s only 2, she is not hearing all your nagging!

But I know she hears every last bit. At some point over the next few days, she would repeat bits and pieces of my rant.  Anyway, eventually my dear daughter started back on the routine and is now walking around with brushed teeth. *phew*

Usually, her dad is already at work by the time Layla wakes up. So if she actually does what she is supposed to in the morning, she’ll say to me, “I’m going to tell Daddy I went pee pee and brushed my teeth!”

And sure enough, when he walks into her classroom at 4:30, she doesn’t just say “Hi, Daddy!” She beams and proclaims, “Daddy, I pee peed and brushed my teeth this morning!”

Yes, 9 hours later she is proud of having done something that will make her pops happy.

Anyway, so keeping my toddler clean and adhering to basic hygiene, this is the daily battle this mom fights. Not to mention the whole eating and sleeping ordeal. Can I get an Amen, anyone?

Leave a Reply

