Don’t flatter yourself. We’re all dysfunctional.

This blog has seen fewer posts the past year and a half — my life has been undergoing radical change and fears and blows and successes.

This morning I was trying to reflect and put it into words.

Mary DeMuth at Live Uncaged took the words out of my mouth:

God has been up to something new in my life over the past year. An unsettling. A shift in perspective. A new life. He is freeing me, moment by moment.

I’ve seen how each one of us is truly broken, haunted by the past and pretending to everyone else that things are OK. Because you think that’s what you’re supposed to do. It’s a huge deceit: our belief that no one else is experiencing the dysfunction or vulnerabilities that we are.

Here’s the promise I held onto that I’m seeing come to life:

Though you have made me see troubles,
many and bitter,
you will restore my life again;
from the depths of the earth
you will again bring me up. (Psalm 71:20)

Things I’ve learned:

  • You have to be entrepreneurially minded to make it. A college degree and 9 to 5 are no longer the path to success.
  • I create, therefore I am. You’re only as good as the last thing you’ve made/expressed/implemented.
  • You’re never ready for the season you’re in. And that’s a beautiful thing. When the season’s over, the light bulb flashes over your head, and you’re a new person, equipped with even better tools to plow through the next season.
  • If you’re not making mistakes, you’re probably not doing anything.
  • Fear is the enemy.

I am very thankful for doors that have been opening and opportunities arising out of the blue.

Image Credit: http://www.flickr.com/photos/hanx40d/3787549914/sizes/m/in/photostream/

Leave a Reply

