Where to Eat in Houston

Rice Village

Ruggles Cafe Bakery– There are really no words to describe the out-of-this-world deliciousness of the white chocolate bread pudding. Sweet potato fries are a plus.
Black Walnut Cafe – Most everything is good here, including gelato and other desserts.  I like the atmosphere. My usual order: Anderson’s ‘Bout Time, which is a grilled chicken sandwich with avocado and alfalfa sprouts.

Downtown

Market Square Bar & Grill – I’m always looking for a good hamburger, and this downtown grill never disappoints. My usual order: Mushroom Swiss or Jalapeno Burger.
Doozo dumplings – Sajan and I used to eat lunch at this underground locale all the time when I worked downtown. If I remember correctly, you can get 5 dumplings for 3 bucks or 10 for 5 bucks. Take your pick of veggie, pork, chicken or a combo of these.

Westheimer

Brasil – In college, we’d come here on Thursdays for girls’ night out and gorge on desserts. I’m a fan of the hot chocolate. The pizza is good, too.
Agora – I’d heard about belly-dancing Wednesdays here but surprisingly only went for the first time a few weeks ago on a Saturday night. Just a chill place to catch up with friends, and very good menu offerings.
Niko Niko’s – During college, I frequented this place. Never unsatisfying. My usual order: lamb gyro with fries and lots of hot sauce.
Riva’s – I never get tired of this Italian place near Montrose and Westheimer, right by Niko Niko’s. We come in big parties, and the owner is always happy to see us. We usually sit in the piano room in the center of the restaurant. My usual order: Canneloni with marinara sauce.
Churrasco’s – Of all the things to grub on at this fancy schmancy place, I ordered the hamburger and fries and even that plate tasted like it was worth $500. The waiter brought us this melt in your mouth complimentary dessert that had to have come straight from heaven. I had never tasted such finely crafted food. My mouth almost died because it knew it could never be as happy as it was at that moment.

Kirby/Richmond

House of Pies – You must order the Bayou Goo pie. My usual order: french toast with whipped cream and strawberries. I prefer the Kirby location.

West Houston

Maharajah– Great, fresh tandoori chicken and samosas among many other items. Buffet. We had our engagement party at this restaurant, and they catered our wedding reception appetizers.
Cheddars – Three words: honey butter biscuits

Almeda

Reggae Hut
– The Jerk Chicken is a 10. Rich and spicy. Love the music.

OK this list is abbreviated, of course. What would you add?

One thought on “Where to Eat in Houston

Leave a Reply

