Increase Your Food Mileage

Ever wonder how much you should be eating?

Sometimes after a big meal at a restaurant, when I’ve unbuttoned my pants to keep breathing and hope no one’s noticed, I feel like I’ve just consumed a full day’s worth of calories.

I went to Escalante’s with some co-workers today, and surprisingly, was able to stop eating without scarfing down my entire meal. After a bowl of their famous tortilla soup and one quesadilla, I decided I was satisfied and didn’t need to go back to work stuffed and itching to go back home to throw up.

Ideally, I try to keep each meal at around 500 calories. Sometimes, that’s wishful thinking, but it’s easier to do if I avoid eating out. But put some brownies or ice cream in front of me and it’s over. Like today when I had a brownie, a cookie and a cupcake.

This Web site gives you an idea of how much 200 calories constitutes. That’s one half of a Jack-in-the-Box cheeseburger, three apples or a bowl of cereal. Nutrition Action shares the 10 best and worst foods. The best include citrus, wild salmon and brown rice, while tempting delicacies like McDonald’s Chicken Selects Breast Strips, Starbucks Caffe Mocha and Cheesecake Factory Cheesecake are deemed the worst. A Dairy Queen chocolate chip cookie dough blizzard has 950 calories.

The other day at a housewarming, I stayed away from soda, knowing I could replace that 100 or 200 calories with some dessert. Sajan and I discussed snacking on apples when we’re hungry at night. We don’t drink soda, and generally don’t keep junk food in the house. Though we did snag a $3 bucket of Blue Bell Cookies ‘n Cream.

One thought on “Increase Your Food Mileage

  1. Thanks for the reminder, especially the “how much 200 calories” site. Wow!

    And, congrats on stopping eating when you wanted to. Restaurant meals with friends are social situations where it’s easy to give into unspoken pressure.

    My wife and I recently went to a restaurant and chose to split a nice meal rather than just have salad. We took home what we chose not to eat, which went nicely on rice the next day.

    Best wishes!

Leave a Reply

