The Case of the Moldy Tortillas

Since last week, Sajan and I have been anticipating eating deelishus homemade quesadillas. The concocting of these quesadillas has been delayed for two reasons: 1) We were out of town last weekend, and 2) Somehow, we’ve been ending up with food from our moms in our refrigerator!

We carpooled to work today, and on the way home, our stomachs were starving, and we dreamed of dancing quesadillas leaping into our gaping mouths. I had already prepared and seasoned the ground meat and put it in the freezer. All it needed was handfuls of shredded cheese, slices of bell pepper, dollops of sour cream and generous helpings of picante sauce. And the gentle warmth of tortillas fresh off the stove.

We arrived home. I made a beeline for the kitchen and took the meat out of the freezer. And then to my horror, I grabbed the tortillas, the savory southwestern ones from HEB, only to find they were being devastated by mold.

Our excitement fizzled.

I scoured the pantry, desperate for quick dinner ideas. Boxes of Past-A-Roni stared back at me. What a joke. The boxed pasta couldn’t compare to quesadillas. Then the macaroni and chipotle tomato sauce smiled at me. And Sajan and I decided it was time to experiment.

Step 1: Cook macaroni according to package directions.

Step 2: Saute onions and bell peppers. Add ground meat. Season with chili powder if desired.

Step 3: Add meat mixture to cooked macaroni and cheese.

Step 4: Pour HEB chipotle tomato sauce over mac and meat. Stir.

Step 5: Add generous helpings of shredded cheese. You can never have too much. Go overboard.

Step 6: Add dicings of homegrown tomato from mom’s backyard.

Step 7: Mix well and indulge.

Mmmm.

4 thoughts on “The Case of the Moldy Tortillas

  1. Wow, that sounds really good.

    And I agree, you can never have too much cheese. I’m adding Provolone to my Cocoa Krispies tomorrow morning.

Leave a Reply

